



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Friday, May 04, 2018

Finalists for SP Sports Awards announced

Names of finalists for the 2018 SP Sports Awards were announced today at a press conference at the SP Brewery Headquarters in Port Moresby.

Three finalists for each of the 11 categories were selected from a pool of nominations that came from all over the country.

Secretary General of the Papua New Guinea Olympic Committee, Auvita Rapilla who made the announcement, congratulated the finalists saying it is a great achievement in itself.

"While only one of you will receive the award for your respective categories, all of you are champions in your own right.

"Being nominated and furthermore, being a finalist in the SP Sports Awards is a great achievement in itself," she said.

Rapilla said 2017 was a big sporting year for Papua New Guinea and that is reflected in the high quality nominations that were received.

"What a year 2017 was for sports in Papua New Guinea.

"With so much high quality nominations, it was quite a task deciding on who should make the final three for each category," she said.

It took two meetings for the Committee to deliberate and select the final list of athletes, officials and teams.

Rapilla thanked the public for responding positively to the call for nominations saying that it reflected on the recognition and appreciation they have for the country's sports men and women.

She made a special mention of the award category for the Community Sports Initiative, which received 14 nominations. It was a big increase from previous years.

"The increase in nominations for this award demonstrates the recognition of sport as a powerful tool for community development. I encourage more people and institutions with such programmes to submit their nominations for this award in the future," Rapilla said.

The selection of the finalists is based on performance and merit and also the quality of the nominations that were submitted. A number of nominations were not considered because they lacked supporting documents and information.

The SP Sports Awards Selection Committee took their time to carefully deliberate on the nominations ensuring that each met their respective criteria.

The announcement of the finalists also opens voting for the People Choice Award. This category is open to the public to vote directly for their sports person of choice from the top four categories. Voting is done through the FM 100 SMS voting system.

Awards open for voting in this category are; Male Athlete of the Year, Female Athlete of the Year, Team of the Year and the National Performance of the Year Award.

The finalists will gather at the Crowne Plaza hotel in Port Moresby for the presentation night which will be held on May 26.

The finalists are;

Sports Media Award

- 1. Godwin Eki (EMTV)
- 2. SP Sports Breakfast Show (FM 100)
- 3. The National (The National Newspaper)

Sports Photo of the Year

- 1. Lay Up (By Mark Talia)
- 2. Pitch Perfect (By Simon Keslep)

3. Celebration Roar (By Troy Taule)

Sports Official of the Year (OSEP)

- 1. Jonathan Ila (AFL)
- 2. Alu Kapa (Cricket)
- 3. Michael Marum (Rugby League)

Best Sportsperson with disability

- 1. Haoda Agari (Table Tennis)
- 2. Steven Allen (Team Central)
- 3. Vero Nime (Table Tennis/Athletics)

WESTPAC Junior Female Athlete of the Year

- 1. Amity Alarcos (Squash)
- 2. Patricia Apisah (Tennis)
- 3. Violet Apisah (Tennis)

WESTPAC Junior Male Athlete of the Year

- 1. Geoffrey Loi (Table Tennis)
- 2. Igo John Mahuru (Cricket)
- 3. Hewago Paul Oea (AFL)

Community Sports Initiative

- 1. Girls Empowerment Program Cricket PNG (Cricket)
- 2. Pink Nose / No School No Surf Programs Surfing Association PNG (Surfing)
- 3. POM Women's Softball Community Programme POM Women's Softball Assoc. (Softball)

National Performance of the Year

- 1. Delisha Koime (Basketball)
- 2. NCD Cricket Team (Cricket)
- 3. Port Moresby Women's Softball Team Gold (Softball)

Team of the Year

- 1. PNG Garamuts Cricket Men's U19 National Team (Cricket)
- 2. PNG Mosquitoes AFL Men's National Team (AFL)
- 3. PNG SP Hunters Rugby League Intrust Super Cup Team (Rugby League)

Female Athlete of the Year

- 1. Rachael Sapery James (Triathlon)
- 2. Abigail Tere-Apisah (Tennis)
- 3. Dika Toua (Weightlifting)

Male Athlete of the Year

- 1. Morea Baru (Weightlifting)
- 2. Ase Boas (Rugby League)
- 3. Mahuru Dai (Cricket)